Unpaid Wage Claims

When you Quit, are Laid off, or are Discharged.

Payment upon Separation from Employment-

Employees who are fired, discharged, terminated, or laid off–
When an employer discharges or lays off an employee, the employer must pay the
employee all wages due by the next regular payday or within 15 days, whichever occurs
first. Louisiana Stat. 23:631

Employees who quit or resign
When an employee quits, an employer must pay the employee all wages due by the
regular payday on which the employee would have been paid if employment had continued
or within 15 days, whichever occurs first. Louisiana Stat. 23:631

Employees who are suspended or resign due to a labor dispute (strike)
An employer must pay an employee who resigns due to an labor dispute by the regular
payday on which the employee would have been paid if employment had continued or
within 15 days, whichever occurs first. Louisiana Stat. 23:631

Wages in Dispute
If there is a dispute between the employer and the employee as to the amount of wages
due upon separation from employment, the employer must timely pay the undisputed
portion of the amount due. Louisiana Stat. 23:631

An employee is often  entitled to Penalties (sometimes substantial)  and Attorney Fees if a wage check is untimely.

 

Consult with an experienced Louisiana employment law attorneys at Miller, Hampton & Hilgendorf to see what your rights are.